Archive for October, 2010

KCABJ Newsletter for October 2010
October 31, 2010

KCABJ Media Awards The Kansas City Association of Black Journalists honored the graduates of its 2010 KCABJ Urban Student Journalism Academy with the best of what media professionals produced at the 19th Annual KCABJ Media Awards Ceremony.
The event took place Oct. 30 at The Kansas City Star Press Pavilion. About 30 people attended. Les Payne, one of the founders of the National Association of Black Journalists told the students to be encouraged that they were entering a great profession. Payne, a Pulitzer Prize winning journalist with Newsday in New York City, was in town to deliver the Freedom Fund Banquet address to the Kansas City branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.
The audience was treated to copies of the 2010 KCABJ Journal with stories from the student graduates of the two-week summer KCABJ academy at Metropolitan Community College – Penn Valley.
People at the program also got to see and hear the television newscasts the students produced. Iris Hermosillo, Sandra Olivas with KCTV-5 told the students that their work on screen was good compared to what each would have been able to produce when they were younger. They encouraged the students to continue to work toward becoming broadcast professionals.

KCABJ Scholarships: The recipient of the eighth annual KCABJ-Lucile H. Bluford Scholarship is Morgane Bruce. She is a junior at Wilberforce University. Bruce received a $500 savings bond for college.
The KCABJ-Roy Wilkins Scholarship has been awarded annually since 1987. It is named after a former editor of The Call, Roy Wilkins, who also served as head of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People during the Civil Rights Movement. The winner of the 2010 KCABJ-Roy Wilkins Scholarship is Faith Slaughter. She received a $1,000 savings bond for college. Slaughter is a freshman at Tennessee State University. She is the 24th recipient of the scholarship.
The ninth annual KCABJ-Laura R. Hockaday Scholarship went to Micah Wilkins, a freshman at Warren Wilson College. The annual scholarship is named after Hockaday, who until she retired in 2000 was the longtime society editor of The Kansas City Star. Hockaday has received numerous awards for making her work inclusive of the racial, ethnic, gender and other diversity in Greater Kansas City. Wilkins received a $500 savings bond for college from KCABJ.
The 17th Annual KCABJ-Nancy Diuguid Scholarship was awarded to Georgia Trevor. She is a senior at Ruskin High School. The scholarship is funded by KCABJ Treasurer Lewis Diuguid and named for his mother, who died in 1994 of Alzheimer’s disease. Nancy Diuguid had longed to be a journalist, but such career options were mostly closed to young black women in the 1950s. Trevor received a $500 savings bond for college.
Each scholarship award was based on the students’ performance during the 2010 journalism academy.

KCABJ Thumbs Down Award KCABJ issued no Thumbs Down Award for 2009-2010. The infamous distinction is given to the media or persons in the media in Greater Kansas City who have set back the image of African Americans or other people of color.

KCABJ President’s Award: This honor goes to the area journalist or organization that has done the most to further the interests of the Kansas City Association of Black Journalists. The recipient is judged by the president of KCABJ to have selflessly given time, talent and resources to benefit other journalists of color in Greater Kansas City. KCABJ President Greg Moore chose the Sharon Cheers for her service to KCABJ. Cheers, former assistant to the publisher of The Call, helped lead the broadcast week of the academy. Without her being with the students throughout the program, the second week would have been in jeopardy.

KCABJ 2010 Media Awards: Elana Gordon with KCUR-FM; KCABJ Broadcast: Radio News for “Camp Takes on Asthma in Urban Core” and “A Vision for the Community: Pioneer in African American Health Care Retires.”
Dr. Susan B. Wilson with KCUR-FM’s “KC Currents”; KCABJ Radio News Magazine for “Local Group Offers Support for Families of the Incarcerated.”
Sylvia Maria Gross with KCUR-FM’s “KC Currents”; KCABJ Radio Business News for “Blue Hills Foreclosure.”
Steve Kraske, Stephen Steigman, Danie Alexander and Kara Caldwell with KCUR-FM’s “Up to Date”; KCABJ Broadcast: Radio Talk Show for “Civil Right in 2010” and “Where Urban Youth Gather.”
Iris Hermosillo, Sandra Olivas, Sherie Small, Dale Jacobson and Bob Totsch with KCTV-5; KCABJ Broadcast: Television Community Affairs for “Que Pasa KC.”
Mike McGraw, Laura Bauer and Mark Morris with The Kansas City Star; KCABJ Newspapers Daily (over 100,000): Enterprise Reporting for “A New Slavery.”
Cindy Hoedel with The Kansas City Star, Star Magazine; KCABJ Magazine Feature for “Playing Dad.”
Alice Thorson with The Kansas City Star; KCABJ Newspapers Daily (over 100,000): Feature Writing for “A Soundsuit Spectacular” & “What Color Makes Art?”
Keith Myers with The Kansas City Star; KCABJ Newspapers Daily (over 100,000): Photojournalism for “A New Slavery.”
Eric L. Wesson with The Call of Kansas City; KCABJ Newspapers Weekly: Enterprise Reporting for “Why People Are Fleeing.”
Alonzo Weston, St. Joseph News-Press; KCABJ Newspapers (under 200,000 Daily) Commentary for “A Name for the Nameless.”
Alonzo Weston, St. Joseph News-Press; KCABJ Newspapers (under 200,000 Daily) Feature Writing for “St. Patrick Mexican Fiesta Celebrates 40.”

NABJ & UNITY News The National Association of Black Journalists will host its Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Jan. 27 in Washington, D.C. Five people will be inducted: Ed Bradley, Merri Dee, J.C. Hayward, Eugene Robinson and Ray Taliaferro. The ceremony will be at the Newseum in downtown Washington.
NABJ is offering a health disparities conference on March 24-26 at the Barbara Jordan Conference Center, Kaiser Family Foundation. The goal is to enable journalists to better cover the growing issue.
NABJ is offering members an opportunity take part in a Cruise on June 26-July 3 with the Royal Caribbean’s Allure of the Seas. The seven-day cruise will include stops in teh Bahamas and Virgin Islands and St. Martin’s. For more information call 336-256-2261 or 301-405-0248.
NABJ is providing a six-month extension of membership to people recently laid off. For more information go to
The Society of Environmental Journalists is forming a Diversity Task Force and all UNITY members are encourage to join the e-mail listserv. For more information contact Ayana Meade at
UNITY: Journalists of Color has elected Joanna Hernandez as president of the organization. Sharon Chan, president of the Asian American Journalists Association, was elected vice president at the fall meeting. Leisa Richardson, with NABJ, was elected secretary; and Michaela Saunders, current UNITY secretary and with the Native American Journalists Association, was elected treasurer.

Jobs And MoreKSHB/KMCI NBC Action News and 38 the Spot have openings for an executive producer, a receptionist, human resource manager/bus partner and local sales manager. For more information contact Tracy Wakeman at
The Boston Globe has summer internship openings in metro, sports, business, living/arts and photo. For more information contact Paula Bouknight at
The Record of Bergen County, N.J., has an immediate opening for a reporter covering municipalities. For more information send e-mail to
INK magazine, a young people’s publication at The Kansas City Star has an opening for an events/general assignment reporter. For more information contact Laurie Mansfield, at

KC People KCABJ President Greg Moore’s mother-in-law died unexpectedly in October. Please keep Greg and his family in your prayers.