Archive for September, 2011

September 17, 2011

KCABJ Media Awards
KCABJ members at the September meeting picked the winners of the 2011 KCABJ scholarships. The four awards are:

The KCABJ/Roy Wilkins Scholarship, named after a former editor of The Call of Kansas City. He later headed the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People during the Civil Rights Movement.

The KCABJ/Lucile Bluford Scholarship, named after the former editor and publisher of The Call.

The KCABJ/Laura Hockaday Scholarship, named after a longtime society editor at The Kansas City Star who worked tirelessly to make her stories and columns inclusive of people of color.

The KCABJ/Nancy Diuguid Scholarship, named after the mother of KCABJ Treasurer Lewis Diuguid who annually funds the award because his mother had wanted to be a journalist, but the profession was mostly closed to women of color when she was a college student.

The scholarship winners were selected based on the quality of the stories they turned in, their classroom performance and on their daily quiz scores and final exam during the first week of the two-week academy. The membership voted to award checks to the students instead of U.S. savings bonds because of complications with that federal program.

The students in the 2001 KCABJ Urban Student Journalism Academy all have been notified that they are to attend the 2 p.m. Oct. 22 media awards program at The Star’s Press Pavilion. Admission is free and open to the public.

Stories the students produced in the academy are going through a final edit before being printed in the 2011 KCABJ Journal. KCABJ member Pamela Spencer is doing that work. The Star annually has produced the newspaper.

The publication will be available at the 20th Annual KCABJ Media Awards ceremony along with copies of the students’ newscasts for radio and television. The students went to KMBC-TV, Channel 9 to produce their TV newscast. They got to practice at KSHB-NBC, Channel 41 with news anchor Cynthia Newsome.

The students produced their radio newscast at KPRS-FM, where Robyn King, KCABJ Vice President/Broadcast, walked them through the process.

The students’ work will be showcased with other media professionals, who will receive awards on Oct. 22 for their enterprise journalism covering African Americans and other people of color. KCABJ President Glenn E. Rice also will give out the President’s Award to the person who has done the most to promote the interests of KCABJ for the year.

Judges for the print and broadcast entries plan to meet Sept. 24 to finalize their work. The winners will be announced at the Oct. 22 ceremony. Light refreshments will be provided.

The election of officers during the National Association of Black Journalists convention in Philadelphia resulted in one tie vote between candidates for the student representative on the NABJ board. A follow-up election took place with Wesley Lowery as the winner over Marissa Evans.

KCABJ President Glenn Rice has been tapped by NABJ President Gregory H. Lee Jr. to help with issues on the NABJ Constitution, which currently has no provisions for tied elections.

Glenn announced at the September KCABJ meeting that Mary Benton of Houston has been picked to serve as region VI director, which includes Kansas City.

News To Go Places
The office of the Kansas City Federal Reserves is seeking an editor for its TEN Magazine. For more information contact Tammy Edwards, assistant vice president of community development at

KC People
Greg Moore, past president of KCABJ, was in town last month for the wedding of Jenee’ Osterheldt, Kansas City Star features columnist.

KCABJ members are working on a holiday party to celebrate the organization’s 30th anniversary.