Archive for September, 2012

KCABJ Newsletter for September 2012
September 16, 2012

Media Awards
The judges have completed their work on entries for the 21st Annual KCABJ Media Awards. The winners will be notified soon and the plaques ordered.

The awards ceremony will occur at 2 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 13 at The Star Press Pavilion, 16th and McGee streets. Light refreshments will be provided.

KCABJ honors go to news media coverage for accurate and honest depictions of African Americans and other people of color in stories, pictures and artwork about people in the Greater Kansas City area.

KCABJ President Glenn E. Rice will name the winner of the KCABJ President’s Award given annually to the person or organization, doing the most to further the interests of KCABJ.

In addition, Glenn has picked two persons to receive KCABJ Lifetime Achievement Awards. They are Pete Wilkerson, a former reporter for The Kansas City Times and cameraman for KCTV-5, and J.W. Edwards, a longtime cameraman for WDAF-TV, Channel 4. They join only three other persons chosen for the lifetime achievement honor in KCABJ’s 31-year history. They are Anita Parran, Helen Gray and Geri Gosa.

The students in the summer KCABJ journalism academy will receive copies of the 2012 KCABJ Journal with their stories from the 2012 KCABJ Urban Student Journalism Academy, which took place at the Metropolitan Community College-Penn Valley. Their radio and television newscasts will be aired at the awards program, and the students will receive copies of them to use to get internships and jobs.

KCABJ members at the September meeting picked the top performing students in the academy for the four KCABJ scholarships. Those awards are the KCABJ-Roy Wilkins Scholarship, the KCABJ-Lucile Bluford Scholarship, the KCABJ-Laura Hockaday Scholarship and the KCABJ-Nancy Diuguid Scholarship.

The winners will be announced at the awards program along with the winners of the professional media awards.

The membership decided at its September meeting to also co-sponsor a candidates forum with the Kansas City branch of the NAACP. The date tentatively is set for Saturday, Oct. 20 at the Bruce R. Watkins Cultural Heritage Center. Look for more breaking information on the KCABJ website and blog. KCABJ members will moderate the forum.

NABJ President Gregory H. Lee Jr. has picked Carol D. Ash as chair of the 2013 NABJ convention in Orlando, Fla., and Benet J. Wilson as program chair for the gathering on July 31-Aug. 4.

“I know Carol and Benet will ensure convention attendees get all that they expect out of an NABJ convention, particularly top-notch training and workshops, opportunities to network, and a chance to relax and have a great time,” Lee said. “Our convention is in great hands.”

NABJ also is seeking workshop and panel presentation proposals for the Orlando convention. The deadline is Oct. 17. The program committee is accepting innovative, educational and “out of the box” proposals that relate to the NABJ theme this year of “People, Purpose, Passion: The Power of NABJ.”

KC People
KCABJ member Amber Mobley’s first Faith Walk column appeared Saturday, Sept. 15 in The Kansas City Star in the Faith section. Check it out!