Archive for November, 2012

KCABJ Newsletter for November 2012
November 18, 2012

November Meeting
KCABJ member Amber Mobley suggested at the November membership meeting that KCABJ help sponsor a candidate forum for the Kansas City, Kan., mayoral election. KCABJ efforts to help sponsor a candidate forum ahead of the November election were not fruitful.

For the March election, Nathan Barnes, a longtime city council member in the Unified Government is running for mayor against Mayor Joe Reardon. KCABJ President Glenn Rice asked Amber to get more information for KCABJ to consider.

KCABJ will hold a holiday party on Dec. 14 at 7 p.m. at the Ninth Inning at 18th and Vine Streets.

The membership also decided to participate in a “Day of Service” on Jan. 21 for the holiday celebrating the birthday of the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. The group decided to again volunteer at Harvesters, a community food network, to benefit people in need. KCABJ Vice President Ramanda Hicks will make the arrangements and get back to the membership with more information.

KCABJ will hold a retreat for members on Jan. 20 to discuss upcoming events for 2013. Look for more information soon on the KCABJ web site at

The National Association of Black Journalists is seeking applications for the Salute to Excellence National Media Awards. The deadline is Jan. 9. For more information go to
Sigma Delta Chi Awards

The Society of Professional Journalists is seeking submissions for its 2012 Sigma Delta Chi Awards, recognizing the best in professional journalism. The deadline is Feb. 7.
For more information send email to or call 317-927-8000.

KC People
Several black journalists joined or renewed their membership in KCABJ for 2013. They included Alonzo Weston, Pamela Woodley,
Venesha Reed, Amber Mobley, Heather Staggers, Bette Beaver, Anita Parran and Lewis Diuguid.

KCABJ will hold its elections on Dec. 14 at the holiday party. People interested in running for one of the elected offices should get in touch with Glenn Rice, president of KCABJ at

The offices are president, vice president/print, vice president/broadcast, treasurer and secretary.