Archive for November, 2013

KCABJ Newsletter for November 2013
November 28, 2013

When KCABJ members meet next some of the issues on the table will include whether to increase the annual dues from $20 a year.

A proposal at the September meeting was for the dues starting in 2014 to increase to $35. The fee for students would rise from $15 a year to $25. Members were told that if they paid their $20 annual dues now that would hold for 2014 regardless of the vote to increase the annual fee.

The $20 for dues was set in 1981 when KCABJ was established. It remains the lowest among chapters of the National Association of Black Journalists.

Some members already have taken advantage of the offer to pay the $20 dues now for 2014. The media awards program along with work furloughs vacations and the Thanksgiving holiday got in the way of members meeting in November.

The executive board will likely decide soon whether KCABJ will have its annual party. A date, time and location will be emailed to paid members.

People will be encouraged to bring potential members to the event.

Another proposal that was discussed in September involves charging students in the KCABJ journalism academy a fee to participate. Scholarships for the academy would be offered to students based on need.

Other proposals offered at the September meeting can be found in the September newsletter on the KCABJ website.

National Association of Black Journalists President Bob Butler reports that NABJ will end the year in the black.

NABJ has received a $150,000 Ford Foundation grant for programming. In addition, NABJ has gotten a $20,000 Annenberg Foundation grant, a $5,000 Gannett Foundation grant and a $10,000 Watch Dog Journalism Award from the Dow Jones News Fund for the High School Journalism Workshops.

“We also have begun to receive 2014 commitments from current sponsors – so far about $200,000– and we are in line to secure new sponsorships for the Hall of Fame, the Health Disparities Conference and the convention,” Butler wrote.

In other news, NABJ’s Hall of Fame Induction will take place Jan. 16, 2014, at the Newseum in Washington, D.C. Those inducted include Herb Boyd, Maureen Bunyan, Ernest Dunbar, Moses Newson, Lee Thornton, Bernard Shaw, Jay Harris and Zelda Ormes. Sheila Solomon was picked as the 2014 Ida B. Wells Award recipient.

For more information go to

News You Can Use
Applications are being accepted for the BALLE Local Economy Fellowship, an 18-month fellowship to advance the local economy movement in North America. The program focuses on individual entrepreneurs. The deadline is Dec. 15.

Echoing Green Fellow Andrew Youn has started a competition for idea-stage social entrepreneurs, offering up to $20,000 to anyone with an idea to more effectively distribute poverty solutions focused on education, energy, health and other areas. The application deadline is Nov. 30.

The Do School is offering a unique program for emerging social entrepreneurs. The deadline is Jan. 7, 2014.

The Presidio Graduate School is offering a Big Idea prize in celebration of its first 10 years. The winner will get a full-ride scholarship to a Presidio Graduate School degree program.

The Harvard Kennedy School is offering a Sheila C. Johnson Leadership Fellowship, providing a full-tuition scholarship enabling applicants to focus on reducing disparities in African American and other underserved communities.

Applications are being sought for the Global Health Corps fellowship. The application deadline is Jan. 26, 2014.

Google the above listed opportunities for more information.

There is a Dec. 31 deadline for the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting with an annual award of $25,000. The five finalists will get a prize of $10,000. For more information email Alison Kommer at or call 617-495-1329.

The Asian American Journalists Association is seeking applicants for the Heartland Project funded by AAJA and the National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association. It is for a temporary reporter to cover diversity issues in Omaha, Neb. For more information go to

KC People
Former KCABJ Secretary and former Kansas City Star sports reporter LaVelle E. Neal II (now with the Minneapolis Star-Tribune) has become the first African American reporter to head the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Former KCABJ President Benita Williams-Jones is the new public information officer for the Kansas City Municipal Court. Benita is a lawyer and a former reporter for The Kansas City Star.

2013 KCABJ academy graduate Molly Dillinger writes a note of thanks to KCABJ expressing her surprise and appreciation at winning the KCABJ-Laura Hockaday Scholarship. She thanks KCABJ for its dedication in preserving quality journalism