Archive for November, 2015

KCABJ Newsletter for November 2015
November 15, 2015

2015 Media Awards
KCABJ handed out four media awards on Nov. 14 to journalism professionals and media organizations. The event took place at The Kansas City Star Press Pavilion.

Graduates of the KCABJ Urban Student Journalism Academy also received their diplomas and copies of the 2015 KCABJ Journal printed by The Star, which included stories the students did in the summer program at Metropolitan Community College-Penn Valley. They also received attractive flash drives, which had photographs from the academy and the newscast they did at the studios of KMBC-TV, Channel 9 in the second week of the intensive journalism program.

The award winners were:

 Gina Kaufmann, Sylvia Maria Gross, Matthew Long-Middleton and Laura Zigler with KCUR-FM; KCABJ Broadcast Radio Feature Award for “Quindaro Dreams.” Aired Aug. 18, 2015.

 The Kansas City Star; KCABJ News Civil Rights Coverage Award for “Martin Luther King Jr. Special Section: 50 years Later, March Goes On.” Published Jan. 12, 2015.

 Alonzo Weston with the St. Joseph News-Press; KCABJ Newspapers Daily (under 200,000): Commentary Award for “Drink Special, Racist Graffiti Bad for St. Joe.” Published Dec. 10, 2014.

The KCABJ President’s Award goes to the area media professional or organization that has done the most to further the interests of the Kansas City Association of Black Journalists. The recipient is judged by the president of KCABJ to have selflessly given time, talent and resources to benefit other journalists of color in Greater Kansas City. KCABJ President Lewis Diuguid chose Bette Tate-Beaver, KCABJ treasurer. Tate-Beaver took over the broadcast week of the KCABJ Urban Student Journalism Academy. She worked with the students and the speaks, checked the day before on the students’ on-camera attire for their newscast at KMBC-TV, Channel 9 and guided the young women in professional and personal matters. Without Tate-Beaver, the broadcast week would have been scrapped.

KCABJ also gave out four scholarships.

The recipient of the 12th KCABJ-Lucile H. Bluford Scholarship is Taylor Holmes. She is a junior at Sumner Academy of Arts and Science. Ms. Bluford had been the longtime editor and publisher of The Call of Kansas City. She continued in that job until she died in June 2003 at age 91. Ms. Bluford used the pages of The Call to promote civil rights and helped open journalism to more people of color.

The KCABJ-Roy Wilkins Scholarship has been awarded annually since 1987. It is named after a former editor of The Call, Roy Wilkins, who also served as head of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People during the Civil Rights Movement. The winner of the 2015 KCABJ-Roy Wilkins Scholarship is Chandi Marsh. Marsh is a senior at Notre Dame de Sion. She is the 28th recipient of the award.

The 13th KCABJ-Laura R. Hockaday Scholarship went to Nia Rhodes, a senior at Lee’s Summit High School. The annual scholarship is named after Hockaday, who until she retired in 2000 was the longtime society editor of The Kansas City Star. Hockaday has received numerous awards for making her work inclusive of the racial, ethnic, gender and other diversity in Greater Kansas City.

The 21st KCABJ-Nancy Diuguid Scholarship was awarded to Jalynn Saulsbury. Saulsbury is a sophomore at Blue Springs South High School. The scholarship is funded by KCABJ Treasurer Lewis Diuguid and named for his mother, who died in 1994 of Alzheimer’s disease. Nancy Diuguid had longed to be a journalist, but such career options were mostly closed to young black women in the 1950s.

National Association of Black Journalists has had to change its national office operations to cut costs. Three staff persons were eliminated, including the executive director post held by Darryl R. Matthews Sr. Drew Berry of Drew Berry & Associates, a media consulting agency, joins the staff as executive consultant for NABJ in this transition period.

NABJ in email to members has pledged a zero deficit in 2016. The organization notified members after the 40th anniversary convention in Minneapolis that it was projected to end the year with a nearly $250,000 deficit, after a $227,000 deficit in 2014, a $60,000 deficit in 2012 and a $619,000 red ink hole in 2009. The projected deficit for 2015 on re-evaluation will be nearly $380,000.

Some recommendations to stop the bleeding include:

 Limiting outsourcing and contracts.

 Developing a funded budget for print products or publish digitally.

 Reducing operating expenses.

The 2015-2017 NABJ Board of Directors is taking steps to stabilize NABJ’s finances. Some measures include a zero-based budget, having a 40th anniversary reception and membership drive and moving the Hall of Fame event to the 2016 convention. NABJ is appealing to members to donate $40 to commemorate 40 years of NABJ. Those who give $40 will be listed in the historic anniversary program. People who renew their membership or become a new member will receive a $15 discount. Members also are encouraged to become lifetime members. The 40th anniversary reception will be from 2 to 4 p.m. Dec. 12 at 815 16th St. N.W. in Washington, D.C. Tickets are $40.

Elise Durham and Hugo Balta will be the co-chairs of the Aug. 3-7, 2016, joint NABJ, National Association of Hispanic Journalists convention in Washington, D.C. And NABJ mourns the loss of another of its 44 founders, Alex Poinsett.

For more NABJ information go to

News You Can Use
Nov. 15 is the deadline to apply for the McGraw Fellowships for Business Journalism. For more information go to Each fellow receives $5,000 a month for up to three months. The fellowship is open to freelance and staff journalists with five years of experience.

The University of Missouri-Columbia School of Journalism is seeking an assistant professor/Missourian editor. The person would teach community engagement (participatory journalism, also known as social journalism. For more information go to