KCABJ Newsletter for November 2016

KCABJ members met on Nov. 19 and picked the winners of the 24th KCABJ Media Awards. Those individuals will be notified in the coming week, and the awards program tentatively is set for Dec. 10. The time and location will be announced soon.

Winners are in print and broadcast categories. In addition, two names will be added to the list of KCABJ Lifetime Achievement Awards winners. Past recipients are Anita Parran, Helen Gray, Geri Gosa, Pete Wilkerson and J.W. Edwards. These are African Americans who were honored for their long careers and leadership in the media and how they paved the way for others in the field.

The KCABJ Media Awards are presented to individuals and media companies that are doing accurate and enterprise journalism about African Americans and other people of color. KCABJ members will be notified through email about the time and location of the media awards program.
The National Association of Black Journalists was among 15 professional journalism organizations that sent a letter to President-elect Donald Trump, letting him know they are “eager” to work with him to “perpetuate one of this nation’s great strengths: our freedom of the press.” The press pool tradition of covering the White House is one that dates back to the presidency of Franklin Roosevelt.

“We also call for access to you via regular press conferences and pool sprays and to your key decision-makers. You have an opportunity as incoming president to set the tone for your staff speaking on the record for the sake of transparency. We also hope your administration will improve response rates to FOIA requests as a way to show the American people, and the world, that the republic belongs to the people.

“A great America depends on having sunlight on its leaders. We expect the traditions of White House press coverage to be upheld whether in Washington or elsewhere. Again we, a joint group of diverse journalism associations, speak as one as we respectfully ask that you take these steps to ensure access to our members covering your administration.”

In addition to NABJ, other organizations that signed the letter to Trump included the National Press Club, the Society of Professional Journalists, the American Society of News Editors and the National Association of Hispanic Journalists.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: